We use cookies to give you the best experience possible. By continuing we’ll assume you’re on board with our cookie policy

Mozart’s Dies Irae and Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus from the Messiah

The whole doc is available only for registered users
  • Pages: 2
  • Word count: 480
  • Category: God Music

A limited time offer! Get a custom sample essay written according to your requirements urgent 3h delivery guaranteed

Order Now

In George Frederic Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus, the music grows from simple to complex, as in Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Dies Irae. Hallelujah, like many other masses, praises God’s almightiness, and lets the audience feel the power of God. The piece starts off it a modest “hallelujah” sung in unison, where the music seems quite free. When the piece begins to praise God, the music enters a firmer, more commanding tone, as the choir sings, “for the Lord Omnipotent reigneth.” When declaring the epithets for the God, such as “king of kings” and “lord of lords,” the voices of the choir turn forte and there are consecutive flat tones, for emphasis. When the music enters into, “The kingdom of this world…,” it is piano, symbolizing something unimportant.

It grows louder with “is become the,” and suddenly, it is forte with “the Kingdom of our Lord and of His Christ, and of His Christ,” which symbolizes its importance. Handel pushes the repetition of “forever and ever” to make the meaning, God ruling for eternity, match the repetitive form, while the violin in the background adds complexity to the sound. Handel caps it off at the end, with a long, ceremonious “hallelujah” that reminds the audience of the glory of the kingdom of God, with a large drum playing the background that seems to hail the greatness of God. Handel has truly made a great piece of work in all aspects, which is surprising considering how fast he wrote the entire Messiah, of which the Hallelujah Chorus is only a small part of.

An another mass, the requiem mass Dies Irae, is started off furiously by Mozart, the choir singing, “Dies irae, dies illa (this day, this day of wrath).” The force in these words mirror this meaning. Since it is a requiem, a funeral mass, Mozart is talking about the day of judgment. The second line, translated, “shall consume the world in ashes,” is fast paced, as if the land is being consumed by fire and flame, with a violin in the background adding speed to the sound. The third line sounds definite and straightforward, as its meaning, which is that this day of judgment was already foretold. Then, violins ascend up the scale, as the scene moves upward to heaven.

The voices are also higher, as they describe the trembling done by those being judged by the God up high. When in the next line they describe the judge, God, arriving, the voices are higher, more forte, and have a definite tone of intimidation in them. In the last verse, as God “weighs everything strictly,” the Latin, “cuncta stricte discussurus,” sounds structured and strict, as it mirrors the action being carried out. Mozart composes this amazing work only using these verses, but it is hardly a piece limited in any way. It is complete on almost all levels.

Related Topics

We can write a custom essay

According to Your Specific Requirements

Order an essay
Materials Daily
100,000+ Subjects
2000+ Topics
Free Plagiarism
All Materials
are Cataloged Well

Sorry, but copying text is forbidden on this website. If you need this or any other sample, we can send it to you via email.

By clicking "SEND", you agree to our terms of service and privacy policy. We'll occasionally send you account related and promo emails.
Sorry, but only registered users have full access

How about getting this access

Your Answer Is Very Helpful For Us
Thank You A Lot!


Emma Taylor


Hi there!
Would you like to get such a paper?
How about getting a customized one?

Can't find What you were Looking for?

Get access to our huge, continuously updated knowledge base

The next update will be in:
14 : 59 : 59