We use cookies to give you the best experience possible. By continuing we’ll assume you’re on board with our cookie policy

Legal status and principles of the relevant early years framework

The whole doc is available only for registered users

A limited time offer! Get a custom sample essay written according to your requirements urgent 3h delivery guaranteed

Order Now

All practitioners should understand and know the framework for Early Years provision used within the relevant United Kingdom home nation. The first and main principle of the EYFS is to achieve the five outcomes of the ECM of staying safe, enjoying and achieving, making a contribution and achieving economic well-being. Since September 2008 England has introduced a statutory curriculum for children aged 0-5 years who are being cared for education outside of their homes. The statutory framework for EYFS is set by the government and all Early Years have to follow this to ensure standardization, which includes child minders, after-school clubs, nurseries, pre-schools, play-groups and schools. In addition to the education programme that is defined, the Early Years Foundation Stage also combines the welfare requirements.

There are 7 areas of learning and development, the 3 prime areas are:

Personal/social and emotional development
Physical development
Communication language and literacy

Providers must also support children in 4 specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

Knowledge and understanding of the world
Expressive arts & design.

Each area of learning is linked to the 5 outcomes of the ‘Every child matters’ framework and key early learning goals. The development stages outlined are broad and show different ways children need to achieve these early learning goals. It is centered upon the needs of the individual child, is holistic and enables the child to progress through the areas of learning and development. The EYFS sets out legal requirement relating to learning and development (goals of early learning, educational programs and arrangement of assessments). This is given legal force by the Early Years Foundation Stage (Learning and Development Requirements) Order 2007 made under Section 39 (1) (a) of the Childcare Act 2006. Legal requirements relating to welfare (safeguarding and promoting children’s welfare, ensuring suitable people and also suitable environments, equipment and organization and also to ensure documentations). The welfare requirement is enforced by Regulations made under Section 39 (1) (b) of the Childcare Act 2006.

The legal requirements relating to learning and development: The early learning goals
The educational programs
The assessment arrangements

The legal requirements to welfare:
Safeguarding and promoting children’s welfare
Suitable people
Suitable premises environment and equipment

Related Topics

We can write a custom essay

According to Your Specific Requirements

Order an essay
Materials Daily
100,000+ Subjects
2000+ Topics
Free Plagiarism
All Materials
are Cataloged Well

Sorry, but copying text is forbidden on this website. If you need this or any other sample, we can send it to you via email.

By clicking "SEND", you agree to our terms of service and privacy policy. We'll occasionally send you account related and promo emails.
Sorry, but only registered users have full access

How about getting this access

Your Answer Is Very Helpful For Us
Thank You A Lot!


Emma Taylor


Hi there!
Would you like to get such a paper?
How about getting a customized one?

Can't find What you were Looking for?

Get access to our huge, continuously updated knowledge base

The next update will be in:
14 : 59 : 59